Why Is It Easier to Get GUESTLIST in Barnes & Noble Than in My Local Bookstores? #GLIST

Why Is It Easier to Get GUESTLIST in Barnes & Noble Than in My Local Bookstores? #GLIST

Before my debut novel GUESTLIST was actually a tangible object that people could purchase and read, I told everyone that it would be available at all the usual online book retailers: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Powell’s. (Hey, Powell’s, what the hell?)

But people asked, “Well, will it be available at [insert local bookstore]?”

“Oh, sure,” I said. “I’ve spoken with them, they pretty much said they’ll be ready when I’m ready.”

Turns out that hasn’t been the case.

You see, despite my being a local Brooklyn author and the claims of my neighborhood bookstores’ desires to support and showcase the work of local authors, I’ve been getting the run-around from damn near everyone.

Well, not everyone – at least WORD Brooklyn had the decency to respond to me and say they didn’t want to carry GUESTLIST: “[We] don’t think that your book is the right fit for us at WORD, we are a very small store and therefore have to be very selective in what we choose to display.”

Damn. Rejection hurts like a nail gun to the heart.

But, in spite of all efforts to reach out to them, other indie bookstores have not deigned to respond.

I’ve been asked if I’m ever going to have a reading or signing event, but at this rate, it appears not. Which is a shame because any event centered around me or GUESTLIST, and held in the wonderful Brooklyn neighborhoods of Fort Greene, Clinton Hill, and Bed-Stuy, would draw a considerable crowd. Don’t take my word for it – ask the good folks at Hanson Dry if they were happy with the turnout at the GUESTLIST book release party.

I mean, it’s baffling to me that big-box bookseller Barnes & Noble is much more amenable to carrying my title than the independent bookstore I’ve supported since they opened their doors in my neighborhood.

Perhaps I was naïve in thinking that the local book retailers would actually show support. After all, who am I? Just a new author with a fantastic fucking novel and growing readership, that’s all.

Y’know, a veritable nobody.

Well, then, I say, fuck you, Shop Around the Corner. I’m giving my business to Fox and Sons. And if you got that reference, Dear Readers, then I love you even more.


Leave a Reply

