Nas: “Jesse Jackson is a Player Hater”

Niggas is losing.

Niggas is losing.

Nasir Jones, a rap artist born on the same day as me but four years earlier, today told MTV News:

I think Jesse Jackson, he’s the biggest player hater. His time is up. All you old niggas, time is up. We heard your voice, we saw your marching, we heard your sermons. We don’t wanna hear that shit no more. It’s a new day. It’s a new voice. I’m here now. We don’t need Jesse; I’m here. I got this. We got Barack, we got David Banners and Young Jeezys. We’re the voice now. It’s no more Jesse. Sorry. Goodbye. You ain’t helping nobody in the ‘hood. That’s the bottom line. Goodbye, Jesse. Bye!

While I am a fan of the sub-genre of cocaine rap, I don’t know that I can fully agree that someone like Young Jeezy being the voice of today’s generation is a positive thing. His music is motivational, dare I say, even inspirational. But, uh … no.

Nasir has a new album coming out on July 15. The album is officially untitled, but at one point he wanted to name it Nigger, raising the ire of many while giving lots of white people the opportunity to say the word without fear of getting beaten about the skull.


Leave a Reply

