Song of the Week: “Chucks On My Feet (Jay Fingers Remix)” by Five Eleven & W-I-Z

All stars!

All stars!

Those that have known me a while know there was a point in time in which I dabbled in the musical arts. As a writer (and erstwhile poet), I figured I had a strong enough command of words to write R&B songs and rap lyrics. This was something that I actually started early on, back in 1993 or ’94 when I wrote lyrics for my buddy and partner-in-rhyme Priest. Priest, another friend named Black, and myself formed a group called BLB, which was the abbreviation for the community center whose majorettes we played drums for. Our producer was the talented but lazy Michael Raiford. LOL. If you didn’t grow up in Orange Mound in the 90s, these names and places will mean nothing to you, and really this history has nothing to do with the video I want to share with you. I was merely giving background on my musical journey.

Anyway, when I got to college, I found musical kinship with my roommate W-I-Z, a Georgia native. Now this kid could spit. Not only that, he was able to bridge the gap between the Down South and East Coast styles, something that was unique when I met him. W-I-Z also had a knack for music production, and it was only a matter of time before the two of us began experimenting with it.

Fast forward to 2007. W-I-Z had been working with an artist calling himself Five Eleven, but the rest of us knew him by his earlier incarnation as R&B wonder J-Shin. W-I-Z and Five Eleven toiled in the studio, but the only song to come out of that pairing was the ode to sneakers “Chucks On My Feet.” The original version, which can be seen here, encompasses the South Florida vibe, that 305 shit, that Liberty City/Opalocka shit. The video was directed by Regina J. Bennett of IBIS Entertainment, and they shot most of it in my old Liberty City stomping grounds. Yes, that’s right, I once lived right off NW 62nd Street, walking distance to the MLK Metrorail station. Is my ghetto pass still valid now?

Well, even though the original song was dopeasfuck, I decided to go ahead and put my spin on it. My remix of “Chucks” is probably the last song I’ve produced, and I’m at least happy knowing that those who’ve heard it like it. Feeling bored, I took Regina’s original video — unaltered except for the addition of the Be Cool Entertainment logo at the beginning — and replaced the original track with my remix. Look for cameos from hip-hop heavyweight Dynas as well as the infamous Ian Adams of the Playaz Oasis. Holler at remixed goodness after the jump.

I may get back into music production. Who knows? Since I am aware that a few of you have heard some of my other stuff, I will create some more videos and share them in the future. Most of you have been clamoring for my Paris Hilton song anyway, ahaha. Feedback is greatly appreciated!!

Fun fact: I didn’t buy my first pair of Converse until after remixing this song. Brand marketing at its finest!

For any artists needing music production, W-I-Z is a beast. We have tracks for sale, so you can visit his MySpace page or just holler at me. But as Jay-Z said, you wanna be in the public? Send your budget.

For artists needing music video production, holler at Regina at IBIS Entertainment.


Leave a Reply

