#FingersFollows: Today’s Recommendation – @JayFingers – #FF

#FingersFollows: Today's Recommendation - @JayFingers - #FF

We all have our grievances with the idea of Follow Friday on Teh Twitter. For most of us, the beef is a result of being lumped into a group of disparate people and having that post endlessly retweeted, leaving our timelines and replies flooded with nonsense posted by people we aren’t following and who aren’t following us. It’s maddening enough to make some people swear off Teh Twitter for the entire day.

But what I’ve come to realize is that Follow Friday isn’t so horrible; your relationship with the hashtag depends on who’s using it. If you deal with an unsavory group like, say, #NegroTwitter, you’ll often find yourself gnashing your teeth like some biblical mourner. (Please, no hate mail, black folks; you know it’s true.) If you follow people who actually add value to your Twitter experience, however, you’ll discover Follow Friday isn’t the circus of horror you thought it was.

All that said, I’ve decided to try something new out. I call it #FingersFollows, and, yes, I plan on co-opting the shortened #FF hashtag that’s associated with Follow Friday.

#FingersFollows: Today's Recommendation - @JayFingers - #FF

Problem?

The idea is to post, both on this blog and on Teh Twitter, one person that I follow, why I follow them, and my recommendation that you follow them. But I’m going to do this every day. So instead of merely seeing an #FF recommendation from me on Fridays, you’ll see one every day. Is that cool or what?

Okay, so you may not think so. I don’t care. I’m still going to do this, and since I follow a good number of people, I should be able to do this for at least the next year or two. So who’s the first person I’m going to recommend you follow?

Me, of course. Duh. #Winning!

So get to it. I’m easily found at @JayFingers. Be warned, though—I tweet fast and I tweet often. Keep up if you can.

[@JayFingers]


Leave a Reply

