#FingersFollows: Today’s Recommendation – @KarenDiscoball – #FF

#FingersFollows: Today’s Recommendation – @KarenDiscoball – #FF

miami disco bitch!

I suck. No really, I’m supposed to do the #FingersFollows posts every day but I’ve been slacking; not only that, but I was supposed to do this particular #FF a few days ago but I failed to do so. You see, today’s recommendation is one of my best friends in the entire universe, the lovely, incomparable Karen Discoball. And I meant to post this on her birthday, which was last Friday. Womp.

Karen and I go back like four flats on a Cadillac, like high-top fades, like eight-tracks, like Bartles & Jaymes. We met as co-workers at now-defunct South Beach nightclub Suite Lounge and have been thick as thieves ever since. In addition to being a great friend, Karen is also the world’s biggest house music fiend. No, seriously, she’s like the Quentin Tarantino of house music—she knows every DJ, every song, every remix. And don’t think she’s gonna champion the commercial sound either. Karen is strictly underground, son. When I met her, I knew nothing about EDM; now, I know … a little bit more, haha. And she’s super talented, having done everything from managing top-notch, world renowned DJs to booking shows to event planning.

Jay Fingers and Karen Discoball

Karen helped me retain my sanity while I was working in Miami Beach’s club scene, and I like to think I did the same for her. She’s one of the realest people I know and she always made sure to keep me grounded. I can’t front, I miss the hell out of her and her husband, Gus, who’s one of the coolest men to walk the planet. I truly consider them family.

So, if you want to know who the hottest DJs are or you’re looking for the best parties on South Beach, there’s only one person you should follow.

[@KarenDiscoball]


Leave a Reply

