New Music: Big K.R.I.T. – Return of 4Eva

New Music: Big K.R.I.T. - Return of 4Eva

I have a slightly embarrassing confession to make: before yesterday, I wasn’t up on Big K.R.I.T.

I mean, I knew he’s a Mississippi-bred MC/producer who recently appeared on the cover of XXL‘s Freshmen 2011 issue. And I knew he’d amassed quite a large following the past year with the critically acclaimed K.R.I.T. Wuz Here. But I wouldn’t have been able to name one K.R.I.T. song if my life depended on it, and feeling mostly blah about the artists people champion these days, I wasn’t itching to give him a chance.

But yesterday he dropped the highly anticipated Return of 4Eva and every-damn-body I knew was salivating over it. So I decided to download it.

Color me pleased.

Reutrn of 4Eva is 21 tracks of soulful Southern thump, each one produced, mixed and mastered by K.R.I.T. himself, and features guests like Bun B, Ludacris, Chamillionaire and David Banner. The vibe reminds me of early Dungeon Family mixed with a bit of New South swag and East Coast lyricism, and I love the subtle shout outs to classic Southern hip-hop. K.R.I.T. knows his history.

Lemme tell you, I’ve been jammin’ to this while sipping on some Café Bustelo and I am sufficiently crunk. Shout to my Skull Candy headphones. Tracklisting and download link below.


Return of 4Eva Tracklisting

  1. R4 (Intro)
  2. Rise & Shine
  3. R4 Theme Song
  4. Dreaming
  5. Rotation
  6. My Sub
  7. Sookie Now (ft. David Banner)
  8. American Rapstar
  9. Highs & Lows
  10. Shake It (ft. Joi)
  11. Made Alot (ft. Big Sant)
  12. Lions & Lambs
  13. King’s Blues
  14. Time Machine (ft. Chamillionaire)
  15. Get Right
  16. Amtrak
  17. Player’s Ballad (ft. Raheem DeVaughn)
  18. Another Naive Individual Glorifying Greed & Encouraging Racism
  19. Free My Soul
  20. The Vent
  21. Country Shit (Remix) (ft. Ludacris x Bun B)

And when you hit the link below to download the album, make sure you also press the little button in the upper right corner that says “Donate.” If we don’t support these artists, they won’t be able to continue to make good music.

[Big K.R.I.T. – Return of 4Eva]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s