Writers: The 25 Most Influential Black Fiction Writers on Twitter

Writers: The 25 Most Influential Black Fiction Writers on Twitter

Being both a writer and compulsive Tweeter, it’d only make sense for me to follow some notable black authors, journalists, bloggers, and the like. However, a lot of the people I’ve encountered on the microblogging service with #writer in their Twitter bio and tweets are, um, decidedly non-black. Don’t get me wrong, I love all my Twitter writing buddies, but it’d be nice to build with some of the black folks finding success as published authors.

Well, fortunately, The Best Damn Creative Writing Blog‘s Cortnee Howard has compiled a list of the Top 25 Most Influential Black Fiction Writers on Twitter. The list, which ranked authors by their Klout score, features writers “who are not only influential, but who are redefining what it means to be a successful black writer in the 21st century.” Among those listed include Terry McMillan, Colson Whitehead, Carleen Brice, Danielle Evans, and the homie Erica Kennedy.

It’s a pretty dope list, and it’s actually introduced me to quite a few writers I’d never heard of before. It also opens my eyes to the obvious fact that there seem to be woefully few contemporary black male fiction writers making any kind of cultural impact. Hmm. That’s okay. I’m looking to be on the list next year. Ha!

Follow me on Twitter! And check out the entire list of influential black authors by clicking the link below.

[The 25 Most Influential Black Fiction Writers on Twitter]


Leave a Reply

