Quote: I Drink Because I Don’t Stand A Chance And I Know It

A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith

“I drink because I don’t stand a chance and I know it. I couldn’t drive a truck like other men and I couldn’t get on the cops with my build. I got to sling beer and sing when I just want to sing. I drink because I got responsibilities I can’t handle.”
—Johnny Nolan, A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith

I’m not going to whine and bitch or anything. I simply thought the quote was very apropos given my current circumstances. I drink. I like to drink. I’m currently only drinking beer since that is basically all I can afford these days, but it’s drink nonetheless. And since I’ve tons of responsibilities I can’t handle, and no promising solutions in sight, I may as well do the second-best thing I’m good at: drink.

Cheers!


2 responses to “Quote: I Drink Because I Don’t Stand A Chance And I Know It

  1. i drink because i seek to accept myself and it’s simply not possible when i’m on the ball. the ball makes me nervous about subtlety: proportions need to be rearranged… and drink, well, turns off the chatter, right?

  2. what page is this on

Leave a Reply

