Throwback: Pink – “There You Go”

Remember when Pink used to be black? I do. Now, I know some of you will take umbrage with that opening statement so let me first go ahead and say, “Please chill the fuck out.” Obviously, I was being cheeky, but I was also making a point.

I know that Pink is a huge platinum selling artist with numerous hits under her belt. Guess how many of these hits I can name. One. “There You Go,” from her debut album Can’t Take Me Home, featuring production from BabyfaceShekspere, and Dallas Austin. You know, guys who were producing hit R&B in the late nineties/early aughts. (Yeah, I mean, I guess we could also count “Lady Marmalade,” but that was an all-star collabo, not a solo joint.)

Her sophomore album, M!ssundaztood, was probably what shot Pink’s career into the stratosphere. But you know something? I couldn’t name a single song off it. And while I’m sure it’s a decent album, I thought it was telling that she launched her career singing R&B before segueing into pop rock.

Am I hating or being critical? No, no, I’m just saying I remember Pink when she was black.

Back When Pink Was A Black Girl

That’s all.


Leave a Reply

