30-Day Book Challenge: A Book That I’ve Read More Than 3 Times

Nothing Lasts Forver by Roderick Thorp

I just want to say that I do not plan on posting these so late in the day. The plan is to have these ready to go so that I can schedule them to post in the afternoon sometime when you’re sitting at your desk, bored to tears. You see, I want to give you something to do—and that something is to read my blog and comment, dammit!

Alas, I grew lazy yesterday and only wrote one of my 30-Day Challenge posts. And then this evening, after my haircut, I hit up a few bars before stopping to get fried catfish from Ruthie’s.

Some good fuckin' food from Ruthie's in Brooklyn

Looks good, doesn’t it? Well, guess what? It is good. But you didn’t come here so you could become jealous of the delicious meal I’m currently enjoying as I write this. You want to know what book I’ve read more than three times. Well, as you’ve perhaps gleaned from the picture above (above the catfish, man!), it is Nothing Lasts Forever by Roderick Thorpe.

Eighties action movie enthusiasts should at least be familiar with Nothing Lasts Forever—it was the basis for the Bruce Willis-starrer Die Hard. You wanna know what’s really gonna cook your goose? Nothing Lasts Forever is the sequel to an earlier novel titled The Detective … which was adapted into a film starring Frank Sinatra. That’s right. Frank Sinatra was the original John McClane. Yippee-ki-yay, motherfuckers.

The basic storyline of Forever is pretty much the same as Die Hard. Terrorists take over a high-rise office building during a holiday party and one lone cop sets out to stop their nefarious plans. But that’s where the similarities ends. For instance, our hero’s name is not John McClane but Joe Leland. Ha! And he’s not trying to rescue his wife but his daughter instead. Ha ha! And it must be said, the novel is much darker than the film. Take from that what you will.

Nothing Lasts Forever affected me in a couple ways. First, it opened my then-young eyes to how a film adaptation can completely diverge from its source material. Who the hell is Joe Leland? Where is Hans Gruber? Wait—where is Aristotle? Dude was super cool!

Second, I remember it being just as fast-paced and exciting as the film. Words! On a page! As exciting as a motion picture! Who’da thunk it? I mean, even the break down of the terrorists’ machine guns was dope as shit. I will always remember what a Kalashnikov is thanks to this book.

Quite honestly, I haven’t read Nothing Lasts Forever in quite some time. It’s somewhere in Mama Fingers’ house. But it was something I tried to read at least once a year, usually after, or maybe during, a viewing of Die Hard. Hmmm. Perhaps the next time I’m home, I’ll look for it and give it another thumb through.


Leave a Reply

