Quote: If I Waited Till I Felt Like Writing

Anne Tyler

“If I waited till I felt like writing, I’d never write at all.”
Anne Tyler, Pulitzer Prize-Winning Novelist

I’ll be real with you, there are some days I do not feel like writing a fucking word. Compound that with the fact that I’m also a writer in my day job and you’re talking to a person whose love/hate relationship with the written word is causing his brains to turn to oatmeal.

But I persevere. I pick up my pen get on my MacBook Air and I hammer words out every day. You see that badge in the sidebar that says 1000 Words A Day? Yeah, that’s not for show. I am really up in this bitch trying to compose a good thousand words, whether it be several blog posts or a magazine article or a piece of fiction that I hope will sell and make some money. I’m on it. I’m doing it.

I just don’t always feel like it.

Tell me, Dear Readers, what do you do to motivate yourself to get work done or to accomplish goals when you really don’t feel up to the task? LMK in the comments below.

[Q4W]


Leave a Reply

