Throwback: Kris Kross – “The Way of The Rhyme”

Sunday was the birthday of my homegirl, DC’s very own DJ Heat. And, like the very bad friend that I am, I neglected to wish her a happy birthday. So, this post will serve as my belated birthday wish to her.

I love you, Heat!! 🙂

Kris Kross

The connection will be lost on most of you, but that’s to be expected. You don’t know Heat like I do. You don’t know that Heat was an unabashed fan of Kris Kross back in the day. Now, sure, I could’ve gone with one of their more familiar hits, like “Jump” or “Warm It Up,” but I had to go with “The Way of The Rhyme” because of the dope Barney Miller sample. Has anyone else in hip-hop thought of using it? That bassline is nasty. E.R.—get on it, man! Ha!


Leave a Reply

