News: Rona Jaffe Foundation 2011 Writers’ Award Winners Announced

Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers Awards 2011

Last week, the Rona Jaffe Foundation announced the winners of its 2011 Writers’ Awards. Each of the six winning writers will receive a $25,000 prize. They are:

  • Melanie Drane (Poetry)
  • Apricot Irving (Non-fiction)
  • Fowzia Karimi (Fiction)
  • Namwali Serpell (Fiction)
  • Merritt Tierce (Fiction)
  • JoAnn Wypijewski (Non-fiction)

The Rona Jaffe Foundation gives its awards under a program that identifies and supports women writers of exceptional talent, focusing on writers in the early stages of their careers.

Rona Jaffe Foundation 2011 Award Winners

l to r: Drane, Irving, Karimi, Serpell, Tierce, Wypijewski

An award ceremony will take place in New York City on September 22nd. The ceremony’s special guest speaker will be acclaimed short story writer Edith Pearlman.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s