Friendships Fluctuate

Rapper Wale heads back to his tour bus outside of Magic City, an Atlanta strip club, October 12, 2011.

I’ll be very, very honest: I’m not the biggest Wale fan. I mean, I dug a couple songs off his Mixtape About Nothing (which I can recognize is classic despite not really liking the whole project), and I certainly recognize the man’s talent. I just don’t feel him like that. Add to the fact that he linked with Rick Ross’s MMG camp and Wale continues to get the side-eye from me.

Having said that, a recent interview Wale did with The FADER has only made my respect for the man grow. Check out what he said about working with Lady Gaga, who, if you didn’t know, was featured on Wale’s first single “Chillin’.” It’s some real shit:

Niggas ain’t your friend. Lady Gaga ain’t my friend. We at the “Chillin'” video shoot talking like we friends, then we at the awards and she walked right past. She got seven, eight, nine number one records and the record we made never worked. “Why should I still care about Wale? His record sold 28,000.” But in the studio we was homies. That was my first lesson. Not that I thought I’d be taking fucking shots of Ciroc with Lady Gaga on a Friday night watching SVU, but put it this way: friendships fluctuate with how hot you are or how cold you are in the industry.

So very fucking true. I’m nowhere near as famous as Wale but this holds true for a nobody like me as well. People I thought were my friends weren’t really my friends. Sure, they loved what I could do for them. But once I was no longer in a position to perform the same services, or I was unable to do favors I’d perviously been able to do with ease, the phone calls and texts stopped coming. The acknowledgments in public happened less and less. I’d cooled off—and not in a good way.

Nowadays, I don’t even sweat it. It’s been a long time since I was hot shit in anyone’s eyes, yet something tells me that’s going to change in a few months. I’m sure that for some reason or another my phone will start ringing off the hook again. But at least I’ll be smart (and jaded) enough to know that the people calling won’t really care about me, and I’ll know exactly how to deal with them.

Check out the entire interview with Wale at The FADER.

Photo Credit: Kendrick Brinson (F77)

[The FADER]


Leave a Reply

