Okay, @JayFingers, What the Hell is #GLIST?

Okay, @JayFingers, What the Hell is #GLIST?

For the past month or so, you may have seen me post some mysterious tweets or Facebook status updates with the hashtag #GLIST attached. One reads, “A bunch of beautiful people doing some very ugly things.” Another one says, “People will talk about it. People will be upset. People will be shocked. People will hate. Hey, don’t look at me. I only wrote it.”

Rest assured, I’m not sitting at my desk punching “submit” each time you see these. This is an automated process. But I’ve been doing it because I’ve been trying to pique your curiosity. Judging by some of the responses I’ve gotten, it looks like I was successful.

I’ve been threatening promising that my debut novel would be arriving soon. I’ve been doing this for, oh, about the past two years. Believe me when I tell you that I thought it was ready back then. Things did not work out as initially planned, however, so my novel had to be placed on the back burner. During that time, I learned a lot of things, met a lot of people, got a ton of feedback, and made significant changes. It was all worth it.

That’s what #GLIST is all about, Dear Readers. #GLIST is the hashtag I’m associating with my debut novel. It’s already a somewhat popular hashtag as it’s used by party promoters the world over. If you haven’t figured it out yet, #GLIST is short for Guestlist, which is the title of my novel.

What is Guestlist about, you ask? Well, let’s just take a gander at the blurb we’re using on the back of the book, shall we?

Juliet Feliz moved to New York City, leaving an unfulfilling life and uncertain future behind her. However, despite her new surroundings and social circle, Juliet’s life threatens to fall into the same rut as before—that is, until she meets successful party promoter Napoleon Fey.

Napoleon introduces Juliet to an exclusive world of VIP nightclubs, luxurious parties, celebrity friends, and sparkler-adorned bottles of champagne. But when Napoleon begins to show romantic interest in Juliet, that raises the ire of a beautiful, and intimidating, ex-model named Ava.

Add to the mix Marcel Swann, a down-on-his-luck young man smitten with Ava; Byron Lord, an NBA player with an affinity for nice suits, cognac, and video vixens; Sharane and Mare, Juliet’s bickering roommates; and a host of other unforgettable characters, and you’ve got the story of a bunch of beautiful people doing some very ugly things.

Guestlist, the debut novel from Jay Fingers, is a spectacularly sexy, funny, and, at times, shocking tale of what goes on once you’ve made it past the velvet rope.

Oh oh ohhhhh! Sounds intriguing doesn’t it?

You can expect me to post a lot more about Guestlist. I’ve got some fun posts in mind, plus a few extra surprises. Oh, this is going to be so much fun! I can barely contain myself.

Guestlist is being published by Be Cool Books, and will be available February 28, 2012.


Leave a Reply

