Sometimes I Get Emotional Over Fonts #GLIST

"Sometimes I Get Emotional Over Fonts" -Kanye West

The hilarious Yolie the Jew posted a series of hand-stitched and framed Kanye West tweets that have been made, and are being sold, by an Etsy user named Supervelma. While the tweets are amusing in and of themselves (HuffPo cites the “persian rug with cherub imagery” as “strangely perfect”), there was one that really spoke to me, and it’s the one pictured above: “Sometimes I get emotional over fonts.”

As you should know, my novel Guestlist is coming out in February. What you may not realize is that I’m basically in charge of every aspect of the novel’s design, from its cover to the paper stock to the type of font used for the interior. That last element is something I agonized over for weeks. I even asked my graphic design friends, via Twitter, which font would be the best one to use. In the end, I opted to go with the tried-and-true Garamond.

Let me tell you right now, Dear Reader, producing a novel is hard work, especially for an indie author like myself. Not only must the novel have a great story to tell, it must also look good as it’s telling its story. Let’s face it, if the shit doesn’t look appealing, how long are you really going to try and force yourself to read it?

Jay Fingers & Kanye West

Jay Fingers & Kanye West

I feel your pain, ‘Ye. I, too, sometimes get emotional over fonts. Ain’t nothin’ to be ashamed of, bruzz.

Ain’t nothin’ to be ashamed of.

[Yolie the Jew]


Leave a Reply

