Help Get @TastyKeish Back Online

Help Get @TastyKeish Back Online

Last night, my homegirl Keisha Dutes aka Tasty Keish hosted A Monthly Bondfire, a concert and open mic event with the goal of cultivating a nurturing environment for both artists and non-artists in New York City and abroad. I didn’t attend last night’s showcase – I’d just returned to NYC after spending the holidays in Memphis – but I have been to previous Bondfires, and let me tell you, it’s quite an event. I was saddened to learn that the series will be ending soon.

However, I was even more saddened to read my Facebook news feed this morning and discover that Keish’s MacBook was stolen by someone described as “light skinned […] with wavy hair about an inch or two long […] possibly Latino, Black or Middle Eastern.”

For those of you unfamiliar with Keish’s work, she wears many hats, DJ, voiceover artist, radio personality, and web series producer among them. She’s worked on a large number of projects over the past few months, many of which include interviews and footage that cannot be replaced. While Keish is offering a reward for the safe return of her MacBook, an effort to raise funds to help her acquire a new laptop, Get TastyKeish Back Online, has already been organized.

Posted on Keish’s Facebook status earlier today:

My macbook, bookbag, and all it’s contents was stolen after the show last night. I spent the morning in a police station filing a report. My livelihood has been compromised. I didn’t want to wake up at all today. When I did, i saw that you all have started helping me by starting a fundraiser (http://conscious.chipin.com/get-tastykeish-back-online). Thank you so much family. I doubt that i’ll get it back but i’m offering a reward for the return of my macbook unharmed. My recent interviews and projects were on there. I can’t get that back.

The goal is $2400, all of which will go to Keish to cover the cost of the MacBook, any applicable taxes, and the AppleCare Protection Plan for MacBook Pro.

I’ve always feared what would happen if I were to lose my laptop. Like Keisha, I cannot make a living without my computer. Again, the contents on her stolen MacBook are irreplaceable, but we can all at least pitch in help to her get back on track. Keish has given so much of herself to us – it’s now time to return the favor.

Make a donation at Get TastyKeish Back Online by clicking the link below.

*Photo courtesy of TastyKeish

[Get TastyKeish Back Online]


Leave a Reply

