Wearing A Hoodie for Trayvon Martin #MillionHoodies #JusticeForTrayvon

I haven’t said very much about Trayvon Martin for one simple reason: the whole situation makes me angry.

Yes, I know, it makes us all angry. We can’t believe that we live in a world, a country, an era where a 17-year-old black teen can be murdered in cold blood and his killer not be in danger of prosecution. But what I’m saying is, and those who know me know this to be true, when I’m angry, I don’t become loud or boisterous. I become quiet.

Damn near silent.

I fester and stew in my anger. It’s not healthy, but that’s what I do, partly because I’m cynical to the point where I don’t think anyone care. No one wants to listen. That goes for everyone, from the politicians and authority figures tasked with creating and enforcing the laws of the land to my own family and friends who have enough troubles of their own to be concerned with anyone else’s.

And so I’ve remained silent. Quiet. Haven’t said a word. Even as the evidence against Trayvon’s murderer George Zimmerman began to mount. Even as tapes of the 911 calls became public. Even as common sense and compassion began to prevail among the masses.

I am Trayvon Martin

Today, I’m breaking my silence. Today, I’m a black man sporting a hoodie, as Trayvon did the evening he was murdered, to show the world that I am not “suspicious.” The pic above was uploaded to Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram with the hashtag #millionhoodies, and the video at the very top was posted with the same hashtag on YouTube and Viddy.

Tonight, scores of people have pledged to gather at Union Square in New York City to march and demand justice for Trayvon Martin.

There’s also a petition organized by Trayvon’s parents and Change.org. It currently has over 500,000 signatures (including mine); please consider signing it. Go here to do so: http://www.change.org/petitions/prosecute-the-killer-of-our-son-17-year-old-trayvon-martin.

When I’m angry, I usually remain silent, and sometimes that is the best course of action. But other times, one cannot stay quiet. One’s voice must be heard. This is one of those times.

Is your voice being heard?


One response to “Wearing A Hoodie for Trayvon Martin #MillionHoodies #JusticeForTrayvon

Leave a Reply

