That’s A Nice Handbag, Ma’am

Beyonce Wants You To Buy This House of Dereon Handbag

This morning on the train, when an older woman stood in front next to me, my eyes immediately fell to her handbag. It was made by Dereon, Beyonce’s fashion label, and was constructed from fabric and patent leather with polished silvertone hardware.

I find myself doing this all the time now, and not just with handbags. Clothing, shoes, accessories of all kinds — I evaluate them all and attempt to discern the materials from which they were made and then I begin writing copy in my head.

I’ve learned my colleagues (a collective affectionately named the Copy Cats) have done the same as well. Because we are immersed in the world of fashion copywriting on a near daily basis, the entire process has become rote. It’s almost second nature to be like, “Wow, that t-shirt is dope! And it’s made from soft jersey cotton with screenprinted graphics at the chest.”

It’s amusing to me that such technique and attention to detail has found its way to the fore of my thoughts. Just know, Dear Readers, if we’re meeting in person and you notice my scrutinizing your choice of outfit, it is not because I’m judging your fashion sense. It’s because I’m deconstructing your wardrobe’s material makeup.

Okay, and maybe judging your fashion sense just a little.

*Note: the handbag in the photo above is not the same as the one I saw on the train.


Leave a Reply

